Salted Chocolate Nut Butter Cups

Anyone who knows me knows I am completely accident prone. And forgetful. And my head is always in 5 places at once. And sometimes impatient. And forgetful.

And that’s exactly how this recipe came to life. I accidentally left some coconut oil and almonds in the food processor with every intention of making a big batch of almond butter (recipe coming). But today my patience at an all time low had no business with almond butter. What to do? Threw in some Brazil nut butter, cinnamon, couple of dates, a little salted grass fed butter and a sprinkle of some pink Himalayan, a little raw honey and we were in business.

After burning the first batch of roasted almonds because I was too busy thinking about what day it is, whether my gi is dry yet and my fave quote from Catcher in the Rye, I summoned all of my Sunday afternoon concentration on not burning the second. Success.

(“It’s not too bad when the sun’s out, but it only comes out when it feels like coming out”)

Then I melted a pot of my no-fail coconut oil chocolate for the base of this nutty chocolate affair and started assembling these little beauties.

All in all a beautiful little accident. My favourite kind.

IMG_0700.JPG

What you need:

Nut butter layer:
1 cup of any nut butter you like (I used half almond and Brazil. If you’re patient you could always just use nuts and blend for 15 minutes)
1/2 cup coconut oil
1 tspn cinnamon
3 dates
1 tablespoon grassfed butter salted (omit for vegan)
1/2 tspn pink Himalayan salt
1 tablespoon raw honey

Chocolate layer:
1 cup coconut oil
1 cup raw cacao
Sweetener of choice (2 tablespoon raw honey, coconut syrup, coconut sugar or few drops liquid stevia
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Handful roasted almonds

What you do:

Nut butter layer – all ingredients in the food processor 5 mins or until smooth

Chocolate: melt all ingredients over low heat and stir until smooth

In small cases pour a teaspoon or two or chocolate. Let it set in freezer 5 mins then top with nut butter and one roasted almond. Or two, whatever.

Keep in fridge

IMG_0702.JPG

How many people with ADD does it take to change a light bulb?
Ooh Look! A butterfly!!

Leave a Reply

